Star Wars: The Force Awakens Teaser Analysis

Episode VII-baner

It has been almost ten-years since we saw new footage from a Star Wars movie. Ten. Years. Until this morning, that is, when the internet exploded on itself as Disney released the very first teaser trailer for the hugely anticipated movie Star Wars: The Force Awakens, a sequel to the beloved Original Trilogy of films.

I’m going to be honest with you: I loved it. I’m biased of course, having grown up on all things Star Wars, but the teaser has done exactly what I’m sure Disney and J.J. Abrams wanted it to, and that was to get fans talking. And since I’ve already watched the teaser almost twenty-times, and can’t stop talking about it, I figured I would share my many thoughts and theories right here in order to give my family’s ears a break. So let’s get started.

First off, the teaser was very, very surprising, and in the best way possible. While it is playing in front of every movie in thirty select theaters across the country, the teaser was also released online just before eleven this morning. If you haven’t watched it yet, you can view it below, but if you want to remain as spoiler-free as possible, then leave now, because I am absolutely going to pick all 88 seconds of this thing apart.

The very first thing we see is the endless desert of what I can only assume is Tatooine. It looks exactly like we all remember it as, until a man in stormtrooper armor suddenly pops up onto the screen, covered in sweat and obviously scared of something. There are tons of rumors as to who this particular character is, so let me narrow them down for you.

The man in the suit is none other than actor John Boyega, who is probably best known as starring in the fun, British sci-fi flick Attack the Block. If the many rumors circulating around the web have any truth to them, then it looks like his character could be a stormtrooper deserter who is on the run from his commanding officer, and then eventually meets up with the rest of our heroes.

Now, that’s only a rumor of course, so take it with a grain of salt. All we really know for sure about John Boyega’s character is that he will be one of the film’s leading protagonists. Everything else is purely speculation. Regardless, the fact that there are still stormtroopers around even after the fall of the Empire makes me very happy, especially with that awesome new armor design.

Episode VII-stormtroopers

What I love about the new stormtrooper design is that it’s somehow able to capture the iconic look of the old suit while also putting a new, unique twist on it. While we have no idea how stormtroopers are going to fit into the plot, which as of right now, we still know almost nothing about, I couldn’t be happier that they’re back and I very much look forward to seeing them in action again.

Along with the stormtroopers, we also got our first look at what I can only assume will be the film’s primary robotic sidekick, who, as you can imagine, is pretty adorable. I have no clue how the little droid works, but I know his soccer ball-like body and instantly endearing robotic squeaks and whistles are sure to sell a lot of toys come Christmas season 2015.

Even more important, however, is that the very next shot we get shows us our first glimpse of Daisy Ridley’s character. As is the case for most of the characters, her name has yet to be unveiled, but her outfit, as well as her really awesome speeder, seem to suggests that she’s a native to Tatooine.

Episode VII-Daisy Ridley

And if you look closely, it seems like she actually has the staff of a Tusken Raider strapped to the side of her speeder, which could mean that she’s either a close friend of the not-so-friendly sand people, or that she can hold her own in a fight. I’m inclined to think the latter, especially since Daisy Ridley has been confirmed to be one of the film’s protagonists, along with John Boyega.

What comes next, however, is probably my favorite shot from the whole teaser. Yes, I’m talking about those beautiful X-Wings. The new color scheme and design for the X-Wings looks amazing, and I’ll be honest in saying I got chills seeing them fly over the water like that.

The pilot we see in the X-Wing cockpit is played by actor Oscar Isaac, who gained some considerable acclaim for his leading role in Inside Llewyn Davis, and it seems like he could be the leader of this particular squad of fighters. His flight suit looks fantastic, and I am very, very curious to find out what’s become of the Rebel Alliance now that they’ve been free of the Empire for over thirty-years.

Episode VII-X-Wings

However, what probably has the most people talking is the very next shot of a black-clothed man walking through a snow-covered forest. Right off the bat, it’s pretty obvious that we’re looking at a Sith, and even though we only see his back, the robes and hood reminded me of the main character from The Knights of the Old Republic game, Darth Revan. A crazy idea, I know, but an interesting one to consider nonetheless especially if some recent rumors prove to be accurate.

The real kicker came when he ignited his lightsaber though, as not only does the blade have a more fiery, unstable look to it, but it actually has two smaller blades coming out from the side of the hilt which seem to act as a handguard of sorts. The design is a bit strange, to be sure, but it’s such a crazy and off-the-wall idea that I’m excited to see how it will be used in action.

As to the identity of the man in black, all we have at this point is speculation and rumors. My bet is that it’s Adam Driver, who has been long rumored to be the villain of the film, but at this point it could be anyone. Even the source of the dark, threatening voice that narrates the trailer is a mystery, although many seem to believe that it’s Andy Serkis or Max von Sydow.

Episode VII-Sith

And then we reach the final, triumphant scene from the teaser, which saw the Millennium Falcon flying over the sand dunes of Tatooine while being pursued by a pair of TIE Fighters. Yep, not only are we seeing the return of stormtroopers, but TIE Fighters as well, and seeing them chase after the Falcon like that made me nearly jump out of my chair in excitement.

The Millennium Falcon looks fantastic, as always, and I loved how the camera followed the ship as it rolled and flipped through the air while avoiding the now green energy blasts from the pursuing TIE Fighters. Even without an ounce of context, this scene made me feel like a little kid again, and leaves me more than convinced that the future of Star Wars is in good hands.

If it wasn’t already obvious, I loved just about everything in this teaser. It was both immediately recognizable as being Star Wars, but had so many new, bold twists to it that I was left simultaneously surprised and awestruck. For the first time in years, we literally have no idea what could happen in this movie, and I could not be happier.

Episode VII-Falcon

Star Wars: The Force Awakens may be a long ways off from release still, but with this first teaser, fans have more than enough hints and mysteries to chew on until the next inevitable trailer. Who is the mysterious narrator, and how does he fit into the story? Where are Luke, Han, and Leia, and are they still a team, or have they split up since the end of Return of the Jedi?

We’re probably going to have to wait a bit longer to find any answers, but for the time being, I’m just happy that there’s new Star Wars coming. The new movies will have a lot to prove, and I’m still trying to measure my expectations, but with everything we’ve seen and heard so far, I think it’s safe to say that the future of Star Wars is going to be very, very bright.

4 responses to “Star Wars: The Force Awakens Teaser Analysis

  1. I heard that the new lightsaber is actually a super old lightsaber from a much older time of war between Jedi and Sith, that’s why it looks more like a medieval broad sword than a Katana.

    • Yeah, I heard that too and would be totally on board with it if it turns out to be true. Could be a cool way for them to bridge some old EU material into the movie as well, maybe by including Darth Bane or something again, like they did in The Clone Wars at the end.

  2. Great breakdown, Billy! I liked what I saw but it took me a few repeat viewings before I warmed up to it. It appears that they knew exactly what to include to whet our appetites and ignite all kinds of debate, speculation and anticipation. Nice post, man!

    • It took me a few times to really get it as well. It’s way different than anything I had expected, but the more I watch it the more excited I get. Like I said, the big thing for me is that it feels both new and familiar. I’m just happy that we have a reason to be talking about Star Wars movie again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

