Uncharted PS4 Wishlist

Uncharted PS4-banner

The Uncharted video-games have always been one of my favorites. They almost single-handedly sold me on the PS3, and I can still distinctly remember my initial, jaw-dropping reaction to playing Drake’s Fortune for the very first time. It was one of my very first console games I ever played, and it hooked me in a way nothing ever had before.

My love for the series has only grown over time, and both Uncharted sequels rank among some of my favorite games of all time. With that said, I’m sure  you can imagine my excitement when Naughty Dog unveiled a mysterious teaser for their upcoming PS4 Uncharted game. I was ecstatic, and still am, and have spent more than my fair share of time speculating on what this game could be about.

So, I figured it was time to out some of these speculations to paper. This is my wishlist for the yet to be titled Uncharted PS4 game, consisting of some of my personal expectations and hopes for what I hope the game will end up being. But to be clear, this is all pure speculation from an overly excited fan who just wants an excuse to talk about one of his favorite things.

5) Call it Uncharted 4

I know, I know, the chances of this happening are slim, especially with games like InFamous: Second Son and Killzone: Shadow Fall both ignoring their numerical ordering in their respective series’. However, I really want this to be Uncharted 4, and let me explain why.

Both Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3 were direct sequels to each other. They started a year or so after the events of the previous game, and told another story in the life of Nathan Drake. I want this next game to follow that trend. I don’t want a reboot with new characters (as some have been speculating could happen), I want another adventure from Nathan Drake and his band of misfits.

The numbering isn’t all that important, of course, as long as they tell a great story, but I really want this game to be sequel to Uncharted 3 and I think not calling it Uncharted 4 would just be confusing. I’m not counting on it (see what I did there?), but I would love to see Sony and Naughty Dog go this route, just for continuity’s sake.

4) Eye-Melting Graphics

Obviously this one’s going to be a given, but I think it’s important to address regardless. If you’ve ever played one of Naughty Dog’s games, you know that they not only make excellent games, but that they make them look utterly spectacular as well.

I’ve played a lot of games in the past couple years, but none have been able to visually compare to anything Naughty Dog’s developed. They seem to understand the PlayStation hardware better than anyone else, and it shows in almost every facet of the games they make. And now that they have their hands on the shiny new PS4, I want to see that continue on with their next Uncharted installment.

I want graphics so gorgeous they make my eyes bleed. I want every explosion to rock me in my seat, every shot fired to echo through my skull, and every stray strand of light to blind me with its beauty. This isn’t only what I expect to see from Naughty Dog’s next Uncharted game, but it’s one of the things I’m most excited to get to see for myself.

Uncharted-graphics

See this? I want to see more of it.

3) Bring Back the Characters

There’s some rumors going around that this entry could star someone other than Nathan Drake. The only confirmed actor for the game is Todd Stashwick, who voices the man we hear in the reveal trailer, but other than that, we know nothing. However, I totally expect Naughty Dog will put you back in the shoes of Drake for this game, as Uncharted is his story, and it just wouldn’t be the same without him.

However, I also want to see the rest of the cast as well. Drake’s friend and ‘mentor’ Victor ‘Sully’ Sullivan is bound to show up at some point, and I would absolutely love to see Drake’s long-time love interest Elena Fisher return as well. I’ve always loved Elena’s character, but this time around I want to see her relationship with Drake taken to the next level.

To be honest, that’s actually what I want from all the cast. These are characters we’ve all grown to love, and I just really want to see this next Uncharted game to give them even more depth, even more personality, and in some cases, even more backstory. I want to fall in love with these characters all over again, and if anyone can do that, it’s Naughty Dog.

2) Tell a Personal Story

The Uncharted games have always excelled at telling memorable, exciting stories, but this time around, I want something more. Of course, a globe-trotting, classic adventure will still be the focus, but I also want it to mean something to the characters, primarily Drake.

We got a taste of this with the story in Uncharted 3, but it wasn’t quite as deep and personal as I was hoping. So this time, I want to see Drake and his friends tested in a way they never have before. I’m talking plot twists, tragedy, and heartbreak. The Uncharted games have pretty much shown that they’re not going to be killing off anyone important, but still, I can’t help but wonder what kind of effect that could have on our characters.

Amy Hennig, the brilliant woman who’s been behind the stories for the past three games, has been confirmed to be involved with this game, and I fully expect her to find new ways to challenge our favorite characters and make them evolve. And by the time the credits roll, I want to have seen my favorite characters changed by the events of the game. Which brings me to my next point:

1) End the Series

This one might come as a surprise to you, and to be honest, it’s almost a surprise to me as well. But the more I think about it, the more I feel like this should be the final adventure for Nathan Drake. There’s only so much Naughty Dog can do with the series before it starts to feel tired, and so I want to see them go out on the highest note possible.

I’m not saying this should be the end of the Uncharted franchise entirely, there’s bound to be more prequels and maybe even spin-offs, but I want to see an end to the story of Nathan Drake. Give him one final, explosive adventure and then let the man retire. This is why I want the story to be so personal for Drake, because if the series has to have an ending, I want it to be a memorable one.

Uncharted-ending

Let’s give Drake the retirement he’s always wanted.

Uncharted has always been a more pulp-action kind of game, filled with characters that can perform incredible, heroic feats without breaking a sweat. But I want to see that change a little for Drake’s final adventure. While I don’t want to see Naughty Dog make him quite as vulnerable as, say, Joel in The Last of Us, I do want to see Drake presented as an even more humanized character than he already has been.

If I’m being honest, I know that this being the final Uncharted game is a long shot. These games have become a staple for Sony’s first-party exclusives, and I can’t imagine them putting an end to it anytime soon. But at the same, Naughty Dog has proven with The Last of Us that they have an extraordinary amount of range in the games they make, so why not close the book on Uncharted and let them move onto something new?

So there you have it, five things I would love to see in the next Uncharted game. I have no idea when it will come out, or what it will be about, or even what it’ll be called, but what I do know is that I can’t wait to get my hands on it. And if Naughty Dog can deliver on just a few of the things I mentioned, then I can guarantee that I will be a happy gamer.

4 responses to “Uncharted PS4 Wishlist

  1. This list is totally spot on. I really hope they don’t turn it into a spin off like you said and I would love for it to get a “dark edge” instead of the light humor it usually has!

    • I still hope the signature Uncharted humor is there, but I would like to see, if it is the final installment, the tone to be a little more dire. But to be honest, I’m sure I’ll love the game no matter what they do with it. 😉

Leave a Reply

