Writing for an Audience

writing-banner

I’m going to try something a little different today, so bear with me. I know I spend most of my time blogging about movies, TV, and things in that manner, but today I’m going to write about something that doesn’t even have anything to do with any of that. At all.

Instead, I’m going to write about something that I’m just as passionate about, but don’t actually spend much time talking about on here. I’m talking about creative writing. Or more specifically, writing for an audience.

This has been on my mind for awhile now, and I figured it was about time I put pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard in this case, and get it all out. I write a lot, about a lot of stuff. If you read my ramblings here then you have a pretty solid idea about what interests me, but when I’m not playing around in the blogosphere, I’m playing in my own imagination.

I’m writing about stories, about characters, about worlds that are only limited by my own crazy imagination. This is my passion, pretty much above anything else. I’ve been doing it since I was little, and I haven’t stopped since. But as I’ve gotten older, and my life gets progressively busier, I find that it’s gotten harder to find time to fit creative writing into my schedule.

When that happens, I tend to put it off and ignore the ideas blooming in my head to focus on, say, my social life (which really isn’t all that). This is a trap I get caught in far too often, especially when I’m trying to work on what will probably become a novel of considerable length.

You see, writing takes up a lot of time, and all too often I push it aside in favor of something that seems less daunting. But recently I’ve realized I’ve been writing more than I have been in the habit of doing. Which intrigued me, because all things considered, I’m busier than ever.

So then why am I writing so much? After some soul searching, I think I found the answer. I’m writing because I have an audience. There are people out there who want to read what my imagination comes up with, and not wanting to disappoint them, I write. And I write a lot.

The funny thing is, my audience is pretty limited. Just a few friends, maybe a family member, who enjoy reading my short stories, poems, or developing novels. Sometimes it’s just a single person who asks me how a story is going, and that alone is enough to get me back into it.

This lead me to an epitome. Writers need an audience. We need someone, often times one is enough, who is kind enough to show an interest in what we do and encourages us to pursue it. Just the knowledge that someone cares about whatever it is you’re working on can be the difference between progress and giving up.

I love knowing that someone out there reads what I write; not thousands of people, no, not at all, just a few close friends. There’s no pressure from them, no expectation, just a friendly reminder that they’re invested in the stories I’m telling. They keep my computer warm, and my fingers in shape, and it makes all the difference.

A writer without an audience won’t write, that’s the simple truth. There have been two instances in my life where I’ve given up writing for a time, only to be eventually pulled back into it by, you guessed it, my audience. And I owe them the world for it.

6 responses to “Writing for an Audience

  1. I’m so happy you wrote that. It’s gorgeous. If you ever need an additional reader in your audience, I’m here.

    My last year’s NaNoWriMo probably only hit 50,000 words because my best friend insisted on me sending it to her every few days so she could also read it. She was all the encouragement I needed. So there’s that. I agree. And kudos for writing a lot!

  2. I’ve been part of your audience for some time now, and you never disappoint me.
    I use to write a lot too, short stories and poems. In fact I tried my hand on writing a novel a couple of times. The first being when I was just 12, wrote this kiddish book called ‘Exciting Eight’ Ha. But later threw it away. (something I regret now). Then again 12 years ago,I started in an epic spanning three generations, but never managed to continue.
    Now my blog keeps me sane enough to do what I love, even though I hardly have an audience. But you are right, the more comments I get, the more I enjoy writing.

    • Blogging is an amazing way to get an audience, and it’s probably the best decision I’ve ever made in terms of my writing. I don’t even have a huge following, but just knowing that somebody is reading makes a world of a difference. Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

