Remembering The Clone Wars

SW:TCW-banner

I’ve been thinking a lot about The Clone Wars recently, and with the recent release of the complete fifth, and final, season, and the inevitable marathon that followed, I decided it was time to share these thoughts. Not just thoughts on how sad it is that the show’s over, but about how much it’s impacted me in its five seasons. And that’s how nostalgia started to creep in, which then produced many, many words.

This is going to be my way of officially saying goodbye, but more importantly, to say thank you to everyone who contributed to this show. It’s been a big part of my life for a long time, and in some ways, made Star Wars relevant for me again. It’s told some of the best Star Wars stories of all time, and it’s been a privilege to enjoy them on a weekly basis for so long.

My story starts off on a somewhat unfortunate note, however. You see, I was one of those people who wrote it off. I skipped seeing the movie in the theater, deciding ahead of time that I didn’t care about it, and even when I finally did see it, I convinced myself that it wasn’t that good. To this day, I regret that.

SW:TCW-war

How could anyone not love something like this?

Then the show started airing on Cartoon Network, and I still tried to tell myself that I wasn’t interested. I tried really hard. But then Season 2 started, and I began to really pay attention. Something about it had my interest piqued, so I watched the first few episodes, several times, in fact, and I loved them. And right then and there, my opinion on the show started to shift.

I tuned into Season 2 whenever I could, but still ended up missing more than half of the season. And then for Christmas, I got the entire first season of the show on Blu-ray. The beautiful cover and art-book within had me sold before I even started watching. Long story short, I went through the entire season over Christmas break, and all I wanted was more.

The Clone Wars had me in its grasp, and it wasn’t going to let go. I bought the second season when it was released and ran through it in a couple of days, but by then I had already been watching it weekly. For the first time since Revenge of the Sith, I had new Star Wars stories to experience every single week, and I was loving it.

I always looked forward to the next episode, and to be honest, The Clone Wars was the silver lining to every bad week, promising me a new, wonderfully action-packed adventure in my favorite universe. I was rarely disappointed, and even when I was, whatever came next more than made up for it.

SW:TCW-Jedi

The Clone Wars is some of the best Star Wars we’ve ever had.

This continued all the way until the show aired its final, heart-wrenching episode this past Spring. By that point, I had become more invested in the ongoing adventures of Anakin, Obi-Wan, Ahsoka, and the clones than I ever could’ve imagined. I reviewed every episode of Season 5, all of which you can find here on my blog, and I never missed a day. And as of today, my Top 10 Episode List for the show is my most viewed post on my blog.

The Clone Wars had become a big part of my routine, and I couldn’t have been happier. Which made its sudden cancellation all the more heart-breaking. Even the promise of a new animated series, developed by Dave Filoni and many of his teammates, wasn’t enough to completely numb the sadness I felt.

This show taught me a lot during its run, and because of my obsession with it I became closely acquainted with the many voice-actors, animators, writers, and directors behind the show. I followed them on every social media site possible, and in some cases, even carried out full, awesomely nerdy conversations with them.

Not only were they dedicated workers, but they loved Star Wars with a passion, and it showed in everything they did. In fact, in some cases, the characters in The Clone Wars outclassed even their movie counterparts. The biggest example of this would be Matt Lanter’s portrayal of Anakin Skywalker. He righted all the wrongs of the past, and made Anakin into the character we all imagined him to be, and then some.

SW:TCW-Maul vs. Obi-wan

Yes, this happened. And yes, you have to see it to believe it.

I could go on and on about the actors in this show because they’re just that good. James Arnold Taylor’s Obi-Wan is incredible, and nails the character in a way no one except Ewan McGregor has before, and Ashley Eckstein’s Ahsoka gives such life and personality to her original character of Ahsoka that I grew to love her in the same way I do the heroes of the films.

The care and passion that went into this show staggers me. If you ever get the chance to meet the people behind it, or just hear them talk about what they do, both of which I have had the incredible privilege of doing, then you’ll see it as clear as day. These people love what they’re doing, and the show is all the better because of it.

I owe a lot to The Clone Wars, and as I’m sure you all can see, it means a lot to me. But what makes it so close to my heart is that it gave me back my childhood passion for Star Wars. I’ve been watching the movies for as long as I can remember, but after Revenge of the Sith, I kind of fell out of it. I still loved it, of course, but the passion had dimmed.

The Clone Wars changed that. Watching these stories unfold in front of me brought me back to that childhood wonder I first experienced at age 5, and if I’m being completely honest with myself, The Clone Wars is just as special to me as the movies are.

SW:TCW-Ahsoka leaves

This is one of the very best moments in Star Wars history. So many feelings…

I miss The Clone Wars a lot. I’m sad that there isn’t a new episode for me to enjoy every weekend, but at the same time, I’m thankful that I was able to enjoy it for as long as I did. This show has done a lot for me, even introducing me to people I now consider very good friends, and I only hope its legacy lives on for a very long time.

If anyone involved in this show ever comes across this post, I just want to say thank you. Thank you for all the hard work you put into making this show what it is, and thank you for restoring my passion in a galaxy far, far away. The Clone Wars will always hold a special place in my heart, and I owe it all to you. May the Force be with you.

6 responses to “Remembering The Clone Wars

  1. Great read. I have always been quite dubious about this show. I’m a big Star Wars fan, as is my boyfriend, but we could never bring ourselves to watch the show. I think the animation turned me off at first but the style has kind of grown on me. I think we just had a dislike for Anakin based on the pervious movies. But I came home one day and my boyfriend was watching an episode. He said he was going to change it but got caught up in the story. I watched the end with him and it was really good. Sadly though, we’ve never went back. You may have just changed that. Maybe we’ll grab season one and see how it goes.

    I hate it when a great show ends. We were so absorbed in Avatar the Last Airbender is was sad when the story was over.

    • It took me a long time to make the jump to see it, but obviously I’m glad I did. I really hope you guys enjoy it! It gets better as it goes on too, so definitely give it a chance. 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!

  2. I thought this was an excellent series. So glad that it ended within that excellent streak. I agree that it was one of the best story telling of the star wars story. Which really puts the prequels to shame haha xD

    • I agree, those last two story arcs were some of my favorite Star Wars stories within the last ten years. And as far as the Prequels go, I think TCW is what they should’ve been. Don’t hate them the way most people do, but yeah, this show is way better. 😉 Haha!

Leave a Reply

