Superman/ Batman: A Nerd’s Opinion

Superman-Batman-movie-hi-res-logo

I’m back everyone! After enjoying a few weeks of relaxation and summer sun, I’m coming back to the blogosphere with the first in what I hope will be a series of posts called ‘A Nerd’s Opinion,’ in which I ramble about a nerdy topic of my choosing that will likely be long-winded and complex. And what better way to kick it off than with the somewhat recent announcement of the Superman/Batman movie!

For starters, I think this was the best decision DC could’ve made for their movie universe; but that’s not to say it’s not without risks. Man of Steel itself caused quite a bit of division amongst fans, and while I really enjoyed it, it could lead to some apprehension amongst fans, especially with the questions surrounding who will play Batman, and how he’ll be portrayed.

Indeed, after Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy, people expect a certain degree of quality from Batman, which leads us to ask, “Who will be Batman?” First off, I do not think this Batman should, or will, be from Nolan’s universe. Those movies existed in a universe where aliens just wouldn’t exist. In my opinion, this needs to be a whole new character, played by someone unassociated with Nolan’s movies.

Also, let’s skip the origin story. By now I think everyone knows who Bruce Wayne is, and if they don’t, a few quick flashbacks can fill them in. Bruce’s parents were murdered when he’s young, and as an adult he decides to fight the corruption that lead to their deaths. Simple as that. We don’t need to see it all play it out again. And as far as the actor to play Batman, well, I’ll just direct you to FlixChatter’s post on Richard Armitage and let you decide from there.

Batman

Who will be the next Batman?

But, as much as we all love Batman, I still think this will primarily be Superman’s show. Henry Cavill’s been confirmed to be returning to the role, and while Batman will surely be a huge focus, I think Superman will be our leading man. Which could be a good thing, especially considering that Man of Steel ended with an appetizing look at who Clark Kent will be when not dressed up in superhero garb.

However, I think DC should’ve waited for this team-up until after Man of Steel 2, as another movie to flesh out Clark/Superman even more would’ve given the famous duo even more weight. And since the ending of Man of Steel caused such an uproar, I think having another storyline to deal with that would’ve gone a long way in possibly winning back some jaded fans.

DC is definitely feeling the pressure from Marvel, and even though I think this movie might be a little bit rushed, I trust that DC knows what its doing. Especially if the rumors surrounding a Flash movie in 2016 and JLA in 2017 turn out to be as accurate as they sound.

What I’m trying to say here is that there is a lot of weight resting on this movie’s shoulders. Not only does it have to re-introduce Batman, arguably DC’s most important character right now, but also further develop their new Superman all while giving the two of them conflicts to overcome. That’s quite the burden for any one movie to have.

Superman/Batman-fighting

Will Superman and Batman be enemies?

But even with all this, there’s still one thing that is quite possibly the most important question that needs answering: will Superman and Batman be friends, or enemies? With the title Superman Vs. Batman being all but confirmed by DC, it could be very likely that the two could start off as opponents, rather than as teammates. And while that wouldn’t be my first choice, I think it could still be great.

But first, let’s settle something. If these two heroes fought each other, realistically, Superman would win. Batman will have tricks up his sleeves, no doubt, and the fight would likely last quite awhile, but with the lack of Kryptonite in this movie universe, and Superman’s superhuman abilities, Batman just couldn’t come out on top.

Which begs the question, just what is going to happen between these two? Obviously we don’t know for sure yet, but I think it will go something like this: Batman and Superman start off as enemies, much like we saw Iron Man and Cap fight Thor in The Avengers, but come together through a common enemy, an enemy that I can only hope will be Lex Luthor.

Lex is the perfect villain for this movie. After the events of Man of Steel, he could come on as a political figure who rallies the public against Superman for the destruction of Metropolis, and turns the people’s opinion of ‘superheroes’ from good to bad.

Superman/Batman-friends

Or will they be super-friends?

Obviously this is all just nerdy speculation, but still, I love the idea of Batman and Superman working together to stop Lex Luthor from whatever his newest evil scheme is, especially if it means the two become friends rather than enemies. There will be fights between them, there’s no doubt about that, but I just don’t think we need an entire movie of it.

So there you have it, my hopefully cohesive thoughts and speculations on the incredibly exciting Superman/Batman movie team-up. What do you think? Would you like to see these two duke it out for an entire movie, or join forces from the beginning? Leave a comment with your thoughts, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

13 responses to “Superman/ Batman: A Nerd’s Opinion

  1. I would want to see Batman vs. Superman. It would be epic to finally see who can win & end the arguements between fans (even though there probably won’t be a winner.) Great post!

    • I’m sure we’ll see them duke it out, but I don’t think any outcome will really settle the argument for good. But it will be awesome to watch! Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Awesome post William! I really hope this won’t be a Supes VS Batman film pitting them against each other, I mean they should be a team I think. But yeah, I reckon this will primarily be Superman’s show too, at least I hope it is. I’m curious what Goyer will come up with, but seriously I’d still watch it just to see how this CRAZY idea would come to be, ahah. Thanks for the link btw.

    • I’m with you on that. They just need to be best buds. 😉 Even if the movie is disappointing, I still think it will be great just to see the two characters occupy the same space in a live-action movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

