Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Trailer Analysis

Oh my gosh everyone, this is actually happening. Joss Whedon is returning to television, and bringing with him a new show based on Marvel Universe’s Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division, or S.H.I.E.L.D., for short. And we have a right to be excited.

Not only is it going to be tied into the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but is also going to, very possibly, play some part in the overall stories being told on the big screen. Either through cross-overs, such as brief cameos from the big Hollywood actors, or by introducing characters in the show who can then be carried into the movies.

However, we’ve known very little about the show, and even now, with the recent release of a trailer, we still know very little. With that said though, the trailer that was released onto the interwebs yesterday is still packed with some telling sneak peeks into the show, and I am going to point them out for you the best I can. Let’s begin. Warning: nerd outbreaks may be ahead.

Right off the bat, we see that, ever since the battle of New York in The Avengers, people have come to realize that they’re not alone in this universe, and that there are some who men and women out there who possess extraordinary abilities outside of our understanding.

I’m happy to see that the entire invasion of The Avengers isn’t being pushed under the rug like other movies tend to do (cough::Transformers::cough), and that the population is now dealing with the fact that ‘superheroes’ are a reality. Which, of course, has some mixed consequences.

The first big thing that’s seen, or heard I guess, in the trailer is what seems to be Cobie Smulder’s voice in the beginning of the trailer, asking Agent Grant Ward (one of the show’s main characters, played by Brett Dalton) what S.H.I.E.L.D stands for. If you can recall, Cobie Smulder played Maria Hill in The Avengers, one of Nick Fury’s head S.H.I.E.L.D agents.

ASSEMBLE!!

While Smulder is still very much involved with How I Met Your Mother, she has gone on record to say that it will not prevent her from being involved in Agent’s of S.H.I.E.L.D, which means there’s a pretty good chance that that is her voice, and that she will most likely be a recurring character in the show. Which is really great in my opinion.

Our next big reveal is that, yes, fan favorite Agent Phil Coulson is back, and very much alive. He makes his big appearance while welcoming Agent Ward into something called Level 7. While we all knew Phil would be back, it’s nice to see him so casually walk in on Agent Ward like that, being all awesome and stuff.

However, the most exciting thing I took away from the trailer is the appearance of a mysterious superhero who I can only hope will end up being Luke Cage. Played by J. August Richards, this as-of-now unnamed character is seen jumping out of a burning building while carrying an unconscious girl, suggesting that he is indeed a hero, and not a villain.

I gotta admit, that is a pretty sweet interrogation room.

While there’s a lot left unknown about the extent to which Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D will use the long list of Marvel superheroes, I really, really hope this is Luke Cage, or if not, another character who is actually a part of the Marvel comic book universe. But no matter what, I’ll be rooting for Cage.

Another thing I picked up on is the numerous supers we saw. In addition to J. August Richards’ character, we see not one, but at least two other people with superpowers. There’s someone who has some obviously alien technology fused to his arm, which shares some obvious visual cues with the Chitauri, as well a man who easily throws someone around like a play toy.

I can only hope that the show has enough of a budget to bring in enough super-powered people to keep the stories interesting and exciting, and since not all supers have to have spectacular powers, and since the show is based off of one of the highest grossing movies in history, I don’t think that will be a problem.

Anyone have any guesses as to what is going on here?

And since Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D seems to be implementing some aspects of a procedural, it could, if done right, appeal to both casual TV watchers and those who, like me, desire more depth in their stories.

Once again, I trust Whedon implicitly, and as long as he keeps his eye on the show’s proceedings, I have complete faith it’ll turn out great. As a whole, this show is looking incredibly promising. While I’ll have to hold off on judgement on the team itself until the show airs, I hope Whedon is able to inject some character and originality into some seemingly cliched character architectures.

Agent Melinda May (Wing-Na Wen) is your typical spy/assasin girl, Agent Grant Ward seems to be your standard tough guy, Skye is the rebellious one of the bunch, and Agents Leo Fitz and Jemma Simmons are the geeks. That’s a pretty average group of personalities, but there’s certainly potential for them to be great, especially in the hands of Joss Whedon.

Don’t touch Lola.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I have the absolute highest respect for Whedon and his ability to create and develop his characters, and I really do have faith that the team we see here will become memorable and unique over time.

That us, until Whedon kills them all off, which, if any of you know how he works, will most definitely happen at some point or another.

7 responses to “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Trailer Analysis

  1. I’d definitely watch the pilot though I’m not good about keeping up w/ tv shows! I love Agent Coulson, Clark Gregg really owns that role! Nice to see Wing-Na Wen too, it’s incredible that she’s 49 years old!!

    • I’m sure the pilot will be great, the question is whether or not they can keep up their momentum. But I think Coulson leading it (who doesn’t love this guy?) I think we’ll be fine. πŸ™‚

      • Indeed. That’s my issue w/ a lot of tv shows. Even w/ ARROW, I thought the pilot was great and the lead actor is soooo darn hunky, but I ended up not watching it past 3 episodes.

        Btw, would you follow me on Twitter? I’d like to send you a DM.

      • Oh really? Then I should revisit that. I like the concept and of course, the lead actor πŸ˜‰ I’m hoping it’ll be on Netflix so I can catch up on them all.

        Thanks! I’ll DM you.

Leave a Reply

