Thor: The Dark World Trailer Analysis

As the first entry into a new series I think I’m going to start putting out every so often, this is a post dedicated to the first trailer for Thor: The Dark World. Unlike a lot of reveal trailers, this one gave us a ton of info, through both brief glimpses at villains and characters and the expected big set pieces.

My first reaction was this: wow. I loved the original Thor, more than most people did, and its sequel is one of my most anticipated movies this year. And, after watching this trailer a couple times, I think there’s a good reason for that. Not only does The Dark World seem to be bigger in every way, but it seems to primarily take place in Asgard.

Which, if you’re someone like me and was disappointed we didn’t get to see more of Thor’s homeworld in the original, is very good news. But, I guess I should link to the actual trailer before I really get into this.

First off, if you haven’t been keeping up to date on the casting news, the villains of this movie are the Dark Elves, lead by Malekith the Accursed, played by Doctor Who alumni Christopher Eccleston. While details are scarce on what their intent is, and outside of a few awesome battle scenes in the trailer, we really have no idea what their plan is.

My guess: destroy stuff, take over a planet, enslave the population, you know, bad guy stuff.

While information regarding the antagonist of the movie is being kept mostly under wraps, there is plenty of other stuff that is not. For example, Jane’s going to Asgard. That’s pretty big. Especially considering how Thor kind didn’t come back when he said he would, and now suddenly whisks her off to his home planet.

I don’t know how this will play out, but from what we saw in the trailer, Jane being brought to a world where she’s (most likely) looked down upon by the more powerful Asgardians seems to have some interesting repercussions.

I think Thor could use a hair cut.

Jane herself seems to have mixed feelings about it, “We’re from different worlds, maybe they’re separate for a reason,” and it seems at least Sif (the totally awesome black-haired warrior woman from the first movie) agrees with that statement. While she only has one shot in the trailer, it’s of her making a pretty jealous, angry face.

So, my theory, is that she’s angry with Jane for changing Thor into someone else, and for pulling him away from her. Just a theory, but if it’s true, it could add an interesting dynamic to the movie. Or it could ruin a perfectly good character. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

The trailer also seems to suggest that Jane may die, which I doubt will happen, but if it does, can you imagine the amount of rage Thor would have going into The Avengers 2 in 2015? That’s something I would personally love to see, especially if the heroes are going up against Thanos.

The other big reveal this trailer gave us is that Loki, of course, is coming back. Since he signed on for six Marvel movies, this was to be expected, but I was surprised to see how and why he’ll be making a reappearance.

A picture of Malekith and his Dark Elves, taken form the set of the movie.

It seems that, for some reason, Thor feels the need to request Loki’s help. Maybe it’s because The Dark Elves kidnapped Jane (my theory), or simply because Malekith is to strong for Thor to take on alone. Whatever it is though, I’m excited to find out more.

This trailer was much better than I originally expected it to be, and I can’t wait to see more. Hopefully you’ve enjoyed this nerdy dissection of the reveal trailer for Thor: The Dark World, and feel free to leave a comment if this is something you would actually like to see me do more of in the future.

6 responses to “Thor: The Dark World Trailer Analysis

  1. “I think Thor could use a hair cut.”

    I was wondering if they’d kill off Jane too….it would make Thor darker..and having an angry “god” might turn him darker and could cause problems for the Avengers down the road. Hulk might be the only one with anger management problems then, huh?

    • I’m still waiting for the day we get to see an all-out battle between Thor and the Hulk. Similar to what they did in The Avengers, but bigger. Much bigger. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And on a side-note, wouldn’t it be nuts if Loki killed Jane at the end? Right before the credits? Can you imagine? o.o

  2. Pingback: Thor 2: Longer Hair, More Awesome « The L. Palmer Chronicles·

  3. Pingback: Iron Man 3, 100% & Shitfest 2013 | filmhipster·

Leave a Reply

