PlayStation 4 Announced

If you’re someone who pays attention to anything, you probably know that yesterday, during a special Sony Computer Entertainment Conference, the PlayStation 4 was unveiled; and with it, a deluge of games reveals, face-melting graphics, specs, and a promise to be one of the best consoles on the market.

Let’s discuss.

If you follow my blog, then you know that I’m a PlayStation guy through and through. It’s been my preferred console for as long as I can remember, and as such, I was extremely excited about yesterday’s conference. And, through terrible hotel wi-fi (I’m on vacation), and very low quality, I sat through the entire two-hour conference.

And let’s just say, my mind was blown.

First off, I have to comment that, as exciting as everything was, and still is, the jump from PS3 to PS4, although impressive, will not be as shocking and amazing as the jump between the PS1 to PS2, and even the PS2 to PS3.

While the PS4 sports incredible graphics (watch the gameplay from Killzone: Shadow Fall below for proof), and the gameplay we saw is definitely impressive, it’s just more of what we have; but shinier. So in that regard, things aren’t necessarily ground-breaking.

However the hardware the PS4 is built on (which is much to technical for me to explain here) is very high-tech and one-hundred percent impressive. Click here to get an in-depth list of the specs, but just let me say that they’re awesome. The graphics are, obviously, great, but what really excites me is the possibilities it presents to developers.

First off, the newly confirmed DualShock 4 controller sports a touchpad in the center, redesigned triggers, concave joysticks (yes!) a wider body, more heft, a speaker, headphone jack, new D-pad, a Share button, and an LED player identifier, which is sure to work in tandem with the newly announced Eye.

Now, I know what you’re all thinking; more motion controls, great. Well, relax. The PlayStation Move wasn’t the best decision on Sony’s part, but the tech works fine and while I’m not overjoyed at it’s inclusion in the PS4’s specs, I’m sure that developers will be able to implement it in ways that feel more genuine, rather than tacked on.

I mean, look at what Media Molecule was able to accomplish with their sculpting demo. If more developers use it in unique ways such as that, then I’ll be happy.

Introducing the DualShock 4. Ain’t she pretty?

Also exciting is the new online interface. With the new Share button on the DualShock 4, you’ll be able to automatically upload the last 15-minutes of gameplay to the internet, let you play games before buying, play a game while it downloads, and it also gives you the option to jump into a friend’s game from at any time, even to the point of allowing you to help them through a particularly difficult section of a game.

As impressive as all this is, what really excites me is the games. It’s not often that at a console’s announcement, that so many games are not only confirmed for the launch date, but also given trailers and/or gameplay.

Confirmed games include aforementioned Killzone: Shadow Fall, which looks stellar, the quirky action-platformer Knack, the Capcom developed fantasy game, codenamed Deep Down, intellectual puzzle game The Witness, Ubisoft developed Watch Dogs, Bungie’s new shooter Destiny, and my personal system-seller, InFamous: Second Son.

See what I’m talking about? And I haven’t even mentioned that Diablo 3, the PC juggernaut, is coming to both PS3 and PS4 at launch, as well as a new Final Fantasy, and numerous other hinted but yet to be confirmed titles.

Every third-party publisher/developer confirmed to be working on something for the PS4.

Not to mention the fact that every PS4 game will be able to be played on the Vita via remote play (if it actually works this time), as well as the new social media support and much, much more.

Suffice to say, I’m extremely excited about all of this. And with a Holiday 2013 release date, I can tell you with confidence that I’ll be saving up every penny to be at the midnight launch for this console.

Even though the console itself wasn’t shown, and price wasn’t talked about, I hope Sony has learned from their mistake-laden past and prices the console in a way that will appeal to the average shopper, as well as designed it to look as shiny and beautiful as possible.

Regardless, there’s still a lot we don’t know about the PS4. Which, of course, means that this year’s E3 is going to be insane. And I can’t wait to find out more.

3 responses to “PlayStation 4 Announced

      • True but I guess I’ll be eighteen by the release and that probably means that I have to save, save and save money… But if the PS4 has a specific system requirement (I’m to tired to look up the spelling) then it will be an instant buy for me as well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

