Zack Snyder Could Be Developing a Star Wars Film

SW

(Note: So it turns out my news sites were just messing with me. Snyder’s representatives’ are denying that he has any involvement in a new Star Wars film. So, I guess if you read my ramblings below, just know its vague speculation on something that is most probably not happening.)

No, Zack Snyder (the man behind Watchmen, 300, Sucker Punch and the upcoming Superman reboot Man of Steel) is not directing Episode VII. Rather, he’s been hired to develop a Star Wars spin-off that will exist in the Star Wars universe and probably run parallel with the new trilogy in some way.

For Star Wars fans, these last few months have been crazy. So many emotions, rumors, and unknowns have left us (or me, at least) desperate for more information on the future of Star Wars. Well, now we have something. It may not be what we expected, but it is something.

Zack Snyder’s making a Star Wars movie. What the heck does that mean? Well, if you know Snyder, you know his style of movie is a stylized, intense, and visual experience. However, they can be lacking a bit in substance.

His movies Watchmen and 300 were both well-received, but his most recent project, Sucker Punch, kind of sucked. And unfortunately, the only Snyder film I’ve seen is Sucker Punch, so that makes me nervous.

That’s not to say he’s a bad director. In fact, Sucker Punch was a visual treat with its awesome action and special-effects, but the characters and story were terrible, and dragged the whole movie down. However, Snyder’s upcoming Superman movie Man of Steel looks great, so let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater just yet (sorry, that was a bad analogy).

Although unsure about the idea of an unnumbered, spin-off Star Wars movie, I can’t help but be intrigued, and even a little excited. I think a movie dedicated to developing other characters in the Star Wars universe could be great if done well, and depending if it comes out before or after Episode VII, could either set up the events of VII or continue the story of one of its characters.

It’s an idea that us fans can speculate about forever. If the rumors are true, Snyder’s Star Wars film won’t start production until after Episode VII does, so that will probably mean that it’ll come after. Which, in my opinion, is the better move.

This is Zack Snyder; and he could make Star Wars fans very happy or death-threat angry. No pressure.

Star Wars’ big comeback should be just that; big. And Episode VII has the potential to be that, while a spin-off will still make loads of money, it won’t have that ‘oomph’ that Episode VII will have.

With that said, I think Star Wars going the Marvel way with how they make and release their movies could be a smart move.

If they open audiences back up to Star Wars movies with Episode VII, and then keep them interested with a cool, spin-off like movie that further develops the (probably) new characters from Episode VII, I think Disney and Lucasfilms would have a goldmine on their hands.

And if Snyder knows his Star Wars (which he better!), then I think he could do some very cool stuff with the Force and lightsaber duels. His stylized, fast-paced action scenes could fit into the Star Wars worlds nicely, and if backed up by a strong plot and characters, could be something really special.

Who knows, maybe this spin-off film could even use a female protagonist, just like some of the rumors have suggested. That would be cool, and definitely something I could get behind. Especially if it carries on a story or character that was introduced in Episode VII.

Okay, I think that about wraps up my crazy nerd-ramble. Once again, there’s very little information about what Snyder’s film is going to be about, and the only thing we know about where it’ll fall into the Star Wars timeline is that it takes place after Return of the Jedi.

I’m optimistic about it all, and think it’s a very cool idea that could become something special; if done with care and precision. So no pressure Zack!

4 responses to “Zack Snyder Could Be Developing a Star Wars Film

  1. My money is on another CGI feature film turned series pilot.

    I don’t see the Marvel Phases working as well for setting up the world behind a new Trilogy. But if they decided to start up another series, set after the original trilogy, instead of before, that has strong potential to work on fans like yourself.

    I am, and have been for years, too far gone to care.

    • First off, the new Trilogy that starts in a few years does take place after the Original Trilogy (which even though I’m young, still think are the best films by far), and second, The Clone Wars is awesome. It may have started out a shaky, with way to much emphasis on kid-appeal, but these last two and a half seasons have been totally great (except a few episodes this season). And there was a four-person decapitation last season, if you didn’t know. I’m sorry the franchise has lost you though, but can understand where you’re coming from. Thanks, as always, for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      • I’ll admit that I haven’t given the series much of a chance. I’ve heard good things from younger fans. (And I’m not using the term younger as an insult. There are lots of smart young people. I have no idea what your age is, but I’ve been assuming it’s young, since your first console was a PS3.)

        I’m sure I could enjoy the Clone Wars series, and anything else Star Wars that’s ahead in the future. My problem is that I just don’t care about the franchise anymore. I’m not a Spec. Ed/Prequel hater like so many fans are. I hate Episode 2, and that’s it.

        I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve seen by Snyder though, so the idea of him working with the SW universe doesn’t worry me either. I don’t know if it’ll excite me enough to get to the theatre for it… but time will tell.

      • Sorry I came a little undone there, been a little high-strung today. I can definitely understand the way you feel, and even feel the same a little myself sometimes. And I agree with you; Episode II is bad. Even as a kid I didn’t like it, and only ever watched the climax. Haha. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

