What I Want to See in a PlayStation All-Stars Sequel

If you haven’t figured it out yet, I really like PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale. I have the platinum trophy in both the PS3 and PS Vita versions of the game, and don’t even want to know how many hours I’ve spent playing it.

Because of how much I enjoyed the game, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about what I would like to see in a (hopeful) sequel. So, without further ado, here are five things I want to see in SuperBot Entertainment’s follow-up game to PlayStation All-Stars.

5) More To Unlock

If you read my review last Monday, you should’ve noticed that one of the problems I had with the game was that there wasn’t enough incentive to come play the game after you have the platinum trophy. And after over two weeks of continuous play, I can say I was very accurate with that statement.

Even though I still have some backgrounds and icons to unlock, they don’t offer much in terms of re-playability. And unless I want to spend even more time with the game, perfecting my skill online, there’s not much else for me to do. Although it’s a fantastic game to play with friends, I don’t have many friends who own either a PS3 or All-Stars, so I’m kind of out of luck.

4) More Characters

This one’s a given; in any fighting game, everyone wants more characters. Even though All-Stars has a decent sized line-up, they can definitely add more to it next time. I’m positive that around half of the characters from this game will be transferred over into the sequel, and that’s really great as there are some great characters in this game.

But with so many great characters throughout the PlayStation’s life-cycle, SuperBot has a ton of choices to make when it comes to characters. So in terms their sequel, I’m hoping for up 30 characters total, and SuperBot, please, please add in someone from the Resistance franchise. That would make me a very happy gamer.

3) Added Variety in the Character’s Play Styles

For their first game, SuperBot Entertainment made the best game they could, and it’s awesome! However, there are several characters who feel rather similar to one another in terms of how they play.

For instance, Dante and Raiden are similar in their Square Attacks, and Jak and Drake (both characters from Naughty Dog) also feel similar when it comes to some of their attacks.

It’s nothing major, and not bad enough to get a mention in the review, but it’s something that’s really started to occur to me during my numerous hours of play time. Hopefully we’ll get even more originality in the sequel.

2) Better Stories

This was the only thing that I really wish was better with All-Stars; the Arcade Mode is nothing more than a glorified tutorial. The stories for the characters were, at times, charming, but more often than not, very boring and utterly throwaway.

In a sequel, I would absolutely love to see SuperBot get a little more creative with their stories. Perhaps this is where SuperBot could implement the next thing on my wish-list, and possibly cut the story from Arcade Mode entirely, and add in an entirely separate Story Mode.

I’m not going to try and hide the fact that the majority of games I lose myself in have great stories being told. Games like Uncharted, inFAMOUS, Resistance, and Rocksteady’s Batman games all have deep, enriching stories that are backed up by brilliant gameplay.

PlayStation All-Stars already has the gameplay aspect down almost perfectly; so in the sequel, I would like to see them add more to the character’s stories.

1) More Modes

There is hours of content in PlayStation All-Stars, and in fact, I’ve probably spent at least 15 hours with the Arcade Mode alone. With that said, I want more. Versus Mode is only good for playing with friends, Arcade for the trophies trophies, and Tournament for competition.

I think there are a lot of possibilities for SuperBot when they approach their next game, and I hope they decide to add more features to each of their three modes, or add new modes altogether. Maybe some kind of challenge rooms, or perhaps a game mode that randomly switches your character; anything to add more deep and rewarding content.

With a game like PlayStation All-Stars, there’s a lot of fun to be had by both fighting fans and the PlayStation faithful alike. But to make their game even more accessible, I think SuperBot will need to really create a deep, multifaceted game that has great gameplay, awesome characters, and hours of re-playability.

And by adding in some more modes, I believe they can achieve that.

                                                                                                                              .

So there you have it, my PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale 2 (or whatever they’re going to call it) wishlist. What would you like to see in SuperBot’s next game? Leave a comment below with your opinions, so in a few years, we’ll be able to look back on today and see how wrong our predictions were.

Leave a Reply

