I’m a Writer

As a writer, I spend a lot, and I do mean a lot, of my time writing. When I’m not blogging here, I’m working on whatever story that is currently being born inside my brain.

Whether that story be about a fictional utopia on Mars, or just a taxi driver going through his daily routine, there is always a story being told in my mind.

I’ve gone through so many different ideas that it’s frightening. Since I was just an infant I’ve been making up stories, and as I’ve gotten older those stories have not only gotten bigger and more ambitious, but have also been given meaning.

While my first novel was composed of flat, simple characters and a plot that existed only in dialogue, my newest project has me asking about my character’s motivations, and wondering how he or she would react in a given situation.

And here’s the part that excites me; I’m not answering that question as a creator, but as the character I’ve created.

It’s strange how drastic my writing constantly changes; how it evolves into something new, something better. There will be times when I’ll spend two hours writing something, and then barely recognize it as my handiwork.Nothing is more exhilarating than that; getting pulled into a story that you wrote yourself.

As I read some of my old manuscripts,the numerous grammatical and punctuational errors jump out at me, but yet, I still find myself getting re-involved with the characters as if they’re old friends. And that, is a priceless feeling.

A good friend once told me that writers don’t write, they re-write, and to be honest, truer words were never spoken. My stories are always changing, never staying the same for long; and that’s why we as writers spend so much time rewriting.

Just when I think I’ve got the perfect character, I realize there’s a way I can make him even more three-dimensional; or that time when I declare my plot is the best it can be, and a new idea hits me that I just has to be incorporated into the story.

No matter how hard we try, we can’t not write. It’s as if it’s been engineered into our DNA. Whenever I take a step back from whatever story or project I’m working on, within a week it calls me back with promises of grandeur.

And that’s the joy of it all! There’s an abundance of stories that have to be told, characters who need to be discovered, and ancient worlds just waiting to be unearthed. And that’s our duty, to tell those stories.

I am a writer, and as a writer, I have a job to do. A job to tell the untold, find a hidden treasure, solve a conspiracy, or help a broken man find himself again. And no other job is more rewarding, more challenging, or more exciting. So tell me, what is your job?

Leave a Reply

