Star Wars and Disney: What could this mean for The Clone Wars?

If you’re a Star Wars, then you know how big this last week was. George Lucas sold LucasArts to Disney, Disney planned a seventh movie for Star Wars to release in 2015, and news began to come out about the future of the Star Wars franchise.

Just in case you missed it, I wrote a substantial blog post detailing all this and what it could mean for the series, but with the amount of new information that’s surfaced about the topic these last few days I thought it would be worth a revisit.

To get started, let me say that the more I’ve thought about it, the more excited I get about Episode VII. Disney is an admirable company with some with great films under its name, and I have faith that between the new LucasArts president Kathleen Kennedy’s input, and Disney’s experience, a great film can be made.

How great is yet to be seen, but I trust tha Ms. Kennedy (who’s worked with George for many years) knows what she’s doing, and has Star Wars’ best intentions in mind.

It’s also come to my attention that a lot of kids these days don’t really know what Star Wars is; and that’s sad. It’s been eight years since the last live-action Star Wars film was released, so a lot of kids are really too young to understand Star Wars. However, under Disney’s ownership, I wholly expect my favorite franchise to make a comeback in 2015.

And that is very exciting. When I was young, Star Wars was all my friends and I would talk about, and I look forward to that being the case again..

Even though I am more enthusiastic about Episode VII than I was, there are still some things about Disney owning Star Wars that make me nervous. Primarily what’s going to become of The Clone Wars.

For those of you who’ve been watching the show since it’s beginning, you know how it’s transformed from an enjoyable kid’s show, to a realistic and occasionally dark show about Star Wars. As I’ve said before, I think that its best, The Clone Wars is nearly as good as the Original Trilogy and better than most of the Prequel Trilogy.

With Disney now owning the franchise, it was rumored that maybe The Clone Wars would be switch stations. And now it’s been confirmed that after Season 5 ends, The Clone Wars will move to a Disney owned channel. Most likely Disney XD. Read more about that here.

Now this is what makes me nervous. One of the reasons The Clone Wars is so great is because the creators have been given almost complete freedom to do whatever they want. But with The Clone Wars moving to a different channel (probably Disney XD, a much more kid-friendly channel), what will this mean for the show?

My fear is that Disney will restrict the creators on what kind of content they can make, perhaps removing a lot of the violence from the show altogether. The reason the show works so well is because it doesn’t hold back.

What would it mean of The Clone Wars could no longer present the kind of themes and concepts that make the show so good? The results would probably be less than desirable. And with Season 6 most likely being the shows final season, how could these kind of restrictions impact the closure we as fans want?

If you can’t tell, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about this. And even though I am more excited for Episode VII than ever before, my real fear comes from what will become of The Clone Wars.

I hope and pray that Disney lets Dave Filoni and his team keep on doing what they’re doing, as I feel that if they restrict them, the quality of the show will drop. Or in the very least, not be as impactful.

But in the end, all we can do is wait it out and hope for the best. I do have faith that Disney wants to do Star Wars justice (as it is doing with Marvel), and I hope they allow The Clone Wars to keep on its current track.

Leave a Reply

