Why We Procrastinate

You have a schedule filled with things to-do; a paper due Friday, a big test on Wednesday, a chapter to write on Tuesday, and much more. Instead of chipping away at this list however, you decide to watch TV.

We’ve all experienced this kind of thing at sometime in our lives. Probably not exactly the way I described it, but we’ve all been there.

I’m one of those people that tends to procrastinate. Not on a big scale, and it isn’t as bad as it could be, but I still find myself being distracted from the task at hand more than I should. Especially when there is a lot of time to work on whatever task it is that I’m doing.

Thoughts like “Oh, I have plenty of time” are constant, and I end up spending the last few days before an assignment cramming in as much work as I can in order to hit the deadline. The project always gets finished, but my timing makes the process a chore rather than a real learning experience.

If you’ve never felt this way, then I applaud you. If you have, then I sympathize with you. Life’s busy. With so many things that need to be done, it’s not uncommon for people to procrastinate about something.

It takes strength to stop what you’re doing and get to work work, but it’s even harder to work without getting distracted.

Throughout my run-ins with procrastination, I have to force myself to remember what happened last time I forgot (or ignored) the project at hand. Sometimes this pulls me out of the clouds, and other times it doesn’t. Finding a way to get working and not playing is a skill everyone has to learn at some point, and they all do it differently.

To be completely honest, I’m writing this between eating lunch and taking a practice test for this weeks PSAT. Why? Because I forgot to write it up during the week. I procrastinated, and now I’m writing about my procrastination. Ironic? Most definitely.

I guess what I’m trying to get at here, is that we all procrastinate. At sometime in your life, you’ll do it. It’s bound to happen. It’s how we handle it that’s important.

But hey, it’s Sunday, kick back and relax. You’ve got plenty of time to worry about all that later.

2 responses to “Why We Procrastinate

Leave a Reply

