Wonder Woman is Joining Batman Vs. Superman

BatmanSupermanWonderWoman

So Wonder Woman has been cast in Batman Vs. Superman. And I’m not entirely sure what to think of it. For starters, I think it was only a matter of time before this was officially announced. It’s been rumored that Wonder Woman would show up in Batman and Superman’s film for some time, but I was really hoping for something, I don’t know, different.

I know I’m not in the minority when I say that Wonder Woman has been vastly underused in DC’s movie plans. She was great in the old cartoons Justice League and Justice League Unlimited, and she even had a solo animated film a few years back that was incredibly good. But when it comes to her and the big screen, she’s had an unfortunately mixed history.

She was actually this close to getting her own film back in 2007, she even had a poster show up at Comin-Con, but it was sadly shut down shortly before production started, which is a tragedy because Joss Whedon was attached to it, and come on, how great would that have been? Besides that, however, Princess Diana has been more than unlucky in Hollywood.

Until now, it seems. Batman Vs. Superman is one of 2015′s biggest movies, which is really saying something considering its competition from the likes of The Avengers: Age of Utron and Star Wars Episode VII, and including Wonder Woman definitely won’t hurt it’s hype.

wonder-woman-superman-batmanHowever, does she need to be in it? I’m thinking not. I really, really wanted to see her star in her own film, before or after the inevitable Justice League movie, but it seems that DC has decided to have her first appearance be alongside the Dark Knight and the Man of Steel. But to what extent will her presence be felt?

There’s rumors saying that she could be one of a few Justice League members who make an appearance in this movie, and I’m okay with that. I like the idea of Batman Vs. Superman acting as a backdoor for the Justice League film, but only if it keeps the focus on its main characters.

For a Batman Vs. Superman movie to work, it needs to focus on developing these two characters and giving their relationship, however it may look, a depth that can properly carry an entire movie. It’s no easy task, and I fear that throwing Wonder Woman into the mix will only complicate it.

My advice, give her an extended cameo of sort, maybe just show her as alter-ego Diana Prince and let the audience figure out the rest, and then throw her in again in an after-credits sequences that brings together several other members of the Justice League. But whatever they do, please, please, do not make her a love interest.

I don’t exactly expect them to go this route, but it’s certainly a possibility, especially considering just how intimidating Wonder Woman’s backstory must be to the movie’s producers. It won’t exactly be easy translating her origin story to film, especially since it involves Greek gods, ancient mythology, an island of all-female warriors, and an invisible plane.

How much of that they put in the movie is obviously a mystery, but I hope they at least draw from some of it, because her unique story is one of the many reasons why I love Wonder Woman so much. But if they make her into a romantic interest just for the sake of having a pretty face involved, then I’ll be upset. Like, Batman slapping Robin upset.

Batman slap

See this? This is how upset I’ll be.

And then there’s the matter of the casting, which, in my opinion, is actually pretty good. Now, I haven’t exactly seen much of Gal Gadot in action, but from the few clips from the Fast and the Furious I’ve looked up, she seems to be more than capable of pulling off Wonder Woman.

She has the physicality, screen presence, and looks for it, but since I haven’t seen much her acting skills I can’t say for certain if she’ll have the depth to really capture Diana’s spirit. I have faith, but still, I think I’m going to have to get familiar with her work before I pass any kind of judgement.

My feelings are obviously a little mixed at this point, but I am incredibly excited that Wonder Woman is finally coming to the big screen, but is this really the best route for her? Batman Vs. Superman is going to be a tricky movie to pull off as it is, and while I’m looking forward to seeing it, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little nervous.

Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman

Gadot definitely has the looks for Wonder Woman, but can she handle such an important character?

There’s a lot that could go wrong, but I’m also not going to pass judgement on anything until I get to see it with my own eyes. I’m apprehensive, but also hopeful. I’ve been waiting years to see Wonder Woman make it to the big screen, and if I’m excited about anything, it’s that Hollywood is finally giving her a chance.

It might not be in the way I was hoping for, but for better or for worse, I will be waiting in line opening day to see how it all turns out. Until then, I’ll be waiting on baited breath with everyone else, anxiously awaiting for the next tidbit of news that will inevitably throw the internet into a panic.

8 responses to “Wonder Woman is Joining Batman Vs. Superman

  1. Hi Billy! I agree that Wonder Woman is grossly underused! I’m not sure this is the right way to introduce her character but I’m curious nonetheless. Gadot is gorgeous but a bit too frail looking but I’m sure she’ll undergo training to bulk up, but I hope she has the chops (acting wise) to pull off the role.

    • I’m not so sure about this introduction either, but I’m certainly hoping for the best! I definitely think Gadot will bulk up for the role though. I don’t need her to look like a body-builder, but Wonder Woman should still look like she’s capable of dealing out some damage. ;)

  2. I’m honestly going to continue to expect nothing less than a train wreck from this movie. I have a hard time believing that they learned any lessons about their characters from the mixed backlash of the last couple DC films (which I hated on a character level, but greatly enjoyed on a popcorn level).

    I’m just pre-shutting down my brain on this one. I’m actually actively *hoping* they get as many things wrong as possible, so that I can sit back and laugh at the over-reactions instead of being frustrated, angry and among the over-reactors.

    And unless the “New 52″ stuff ends before 2015… Supes and Wonder Woman are currently romantic interests in the comics, so just go ahead and expect a Love Quadrangle out of this one.

    • Yeah, while I would love to be proved wrong, I don’t expect this to be as good as it could be. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it still, as there are very few superhero movies I actually hated, but I don’t expect it to be great.

      And I know it’s likely that there will be a relationship between Supes and WW, I can’t help but hold out hope that they’ll try and break the mold and do something different. Fingers crossed, I guess. Thanks, as always, for the great comment!

Leave a Reply

